top of page
  • Writer's pictureChandlor Henderson

Meet Dennisha Marsh-Owens

December 22, 2020.


Dennisha Marsh is our newly elected LMCHD Board Director. She won re-election convincingly as she advocated for equity and measure to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Below is her is her personal biography.


I grew up in Pittsburg and attended PUSD from kindergarten through Pittsburg High. Born with a hole in my heart, I lived through four open-heart surgeries by the time I was 25. The doctors told me that I couldn’t work. But as a young mother with a military husband, I had no choice in order to pay the bills. In 2008, my doctor said, “if you want to live, you have to stop stressing your fragile heart.” Although devastated, I found my voice and purpose giving back to our community.


Ever since, I’ve been actively engaged in healthcare advocacy with positive results. As a member of the Community Development Block Grant Committee, I helped steer funding towards homeless services, senior health and wellness programs, and upgrading sidewalks to accommodate disabled residents.


Currently, I am a healthcare consultant for LMCHD. As a healthcare consultant, I worked on a variety of programs including respiratory protection, healthy aging and mental health treatment.


As your healthcare director, I will fight to:

  • Support increasing COVID-19 testing to keep our communities safe.

  • Expand access to asthma treatments for children.

  • Increase funding to reduce obesity rates locally.

  • Promote lifestyle and initiatives.

  • To bridge the community with the District by creating more programs for the Seniors and Youth.

  • Create Internships for the students in the district who would like to work in the Healthcare Industry.

  • Connect the 13 school garden programs with the 3 community gardens and teach farm to table cooking classes. I would also like the students to be able to sell the produce they are not using to sell in the community so that if may fund camps and trips.


17 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page